About Faculty Academics Facilities Auditions Performance Season Ensembles Contact

Performance Season

Coming Up

Poster

Saturday, April 19, 7:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Recital – Jesse Lykins, Percussion

_Castro-web

Monday, April 21, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Stefan Castro, Trombone

poster

Tuesday, April 22, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Guitar Ensemble Concert

poster

Wednesday, April 23, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Symphonic Band and Chamber Winds

2013-14 Performance Season

September

Monday, September 2, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Guest Artist Chamber Music Recital, Members of Faculty from RU and VA Tech

Thursday, September 5, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty and Guest Artist Recital with Pianists Erica Sipes and Tracy Cowden

Friday, September 13, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall of the Covington Center – Guest Artist Recital with Andy Harnsberger, Marimba

Wednesday, September 18, 8:00 p.m., Auditorium in the Bonnie Hurlburt Student Center – Hispanic Heritage Month – Guitar Concert! Music of Spain and Latin America performed by guitar students/faculty of the Department of Music

Tuesday, September 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Faculty Jazz Quintet

Thursday, September 26, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Guest Artist Recital – Martin Jones, Piano

October

Wednesday, October 2, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center
– RU Band Concert – Wind Symphony

Thursday, October 3, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –
Guest Artist Recital – Jason Vieaux, Guitar

Thursday, October 10, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –
RU Concert Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet Concert

Friday, October 18, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –
Fall Honors Recital

Thursday, October 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Recital with David Allen, Clarinet and Erica Sipes, Piano 

Friday, October 25, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –
RU Fall Choral Concert

Saturday, October 26, 4:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Student Recital featuring Allison Hall

November

Saturday, November 2, 3:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Student Recital featuring Erin O'Neil

Thursday, November 7, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Opera Workshop

Tuesday, November 12, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Percussion Ensemble Concert

Thursday, November 14, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Student Recital featuring Matt Warnock

Friday, November 15, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Student Recital featuring George Saunder

Tuesday, November 19, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Guitar Ensemble Concert

Wednesday, November 20,  7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –RU Symphonic Band – Student Conductor Concert Music

December

Tuesday, December 3, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Jazz Band and Combos

Thursday, December 5, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Tri-State Chamber Music Festival - RU Wind Ensemble

Friday, December 6, 6:00 p.m., Muse Banquet Hall – Madrigal Dinner. Click here for ticket information.

Friday, December 6, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Tri-State Chamber Music Festival - RU Concert Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet

Saturday, December 7, 1:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Tri-State Chamber Music Festival - Tri-State Chamber Winds Concert

Saturday, December 7, 6:00 p.m., Muse Banquet Hall – Madrigal Dinner. Click here for ticket information.

January

Thursday, January 23, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –
Faculty and Guest Recital, Erica Sipes and Richard Masters - Piano

Sunday, January 26, 3:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Joint Faculty Voice Recital

Thursday, January 30,  7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Concert – “The Jazz Doctors”

February

Wednesday, February 5, 7:30 p.m., Bondurant Auditorium – The United States Navy Concert Band from Washington, DC. (Free tickets will be available three weeks prior to the concert at the Hurlburt Hall info desk at 831-5420)

Tuesday, February 11, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Recital – Youngmi Kim, Soprano

Sunday, February 23, 1:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senoir Recital – Sara Ramseur

Tuesday, February 25, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Recital – Robert Trent, Guitar

Thursday, February 27, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Spring Honors Recital

March

Monday, March 3, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Mid-Winter Madrigals

Thursday, March 6, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Jazz Ensemble & Jazztet

Monday, March 17, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Recital - Nitza Kats – Piano, “Almost Spring” Recital

Wednesday, March 19, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Faculty Recital – Robert Sanderl, Percussion

Saturday, March 22, 4:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Recital
– Brandon Goss, Voice

Monday, March 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Deana Walker, Voice

Wednesday, March 26, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Band Concert – Wind Ensemble & Symphonic Band

Thursday, March 27, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –  RU Jazz Band and Combos

Friday, March 28, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center –  Senior Recital – Matthew Hollaway, Percussion

April

Tuesday, April 1, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Guest Artist Recital – Ray Luck, Piano

Wednesday, April 2, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Voice Recital – Mollie Cox and Charlee Saul

Friday, April 4, Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU International Guitar Festival

Saturday, April 5, Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU International Guitar Festival

Friday, April 11, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Opera Workshop

Saturday, April 12, 12:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Callie Dupree, Percussion

Saturday, April 12, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Recital – Chris Livernois, Percussion

Saturday, April 12, 6:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Erica Weiner, Voice

Sunday, April 13, 5:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Student Recital – Elizabeth Good

POSTPONED (until April 26) – Sunday, April 13, 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Graduate Recital – Benji Cantrell, Percussion

Tuesday, April 15, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Percussion Ensemble Concert

Wednesday, April 16, 8:00 p.m., Bondurant Auditorium – University Performance Series, Grammy Award Winning Jazz Pianist – Chick Corea
Tickets are $20 per adult; $10 per child, free with RU Id.

CANCELED: Thursday, April 17, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center Faculty Recital – Christopher White, Director, Composer and Woodwinds for “Pandemusicum”

Saturday, April 19, 7:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Recital – Jesse Lykins, Percussion

Monday, April 21, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Stefan Castro, Trombone

Tuesday, April 22, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Guitar Ensemble Concert

Wednesday, April 23, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Symphonic Band and Chamber Winds

Thursday, April 24, 4:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Graduate Recital – Robert Weintraut, Guitar

Thursday, April 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Steven Christian, Guitar

CANCELED: Thursday, April 24, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Guest Artist Recital – Evangelia Mitsopoulou, Piano

Friday, April 25, 5:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Rachel Moore, Percussion

Friday, April 25, 7:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Mu Phi Epsilon Spring Concert

Saturday, April 26, 5:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Graduate Recital – Benji Cantrell, Percussion

POSTPONED: Saturday, April 26, 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Recital – Chris Fisher, Guitar

Sunday, April 27, 11:00 a.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Junior Recital, Katie Metzler,  Soprano

Sunday, April 27, 3:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Virginia Music Teachers Association Student Musicale

Monday, April 28, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Choral Concert – Spring Oratorio

Tuesday, April 29, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Jazz Band and Combos & RU Jazz Ensemble

Wednesday, April 30, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – RU Band Concert – Wind Ensemble & Faculty Chamber Winds

May

Thursday, May 1, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – 2014 Gala Concert – IBLA International Grand Prize Winners

Friday, May 2, 7:30 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Ireland's Vanbrugh Quartet

Saturday, May 3, 3:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Senior Voice Recital, Elizabeth Sutphin

Other Events

Saturday, Oct. 12 – Highlander Festival

Friday – Sunday, Oct. 18–20 – Family Weekend

Tuesday – Saturday, Nov. 18–22 – Percussive Arts Society International Convention, Indianapolis, Ind.

Nov. 21–23 – VMEA Conference, Homestead, Va.

Nov. 22–26 – NASM 89th Annual Meeting, Hollywood, Fla.

Nov. 23 – Dec. 1 – Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, Dec. 7, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Porterfield 101 – Piano juries

Monday – Thursday, Dec. 9–12 – Applied Jury Exams

Saturday, Dec. 14,  9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center, Entrance Auditions

Saturday, Jan. 25, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Entrance Auditions

Thursday – Saturday, Feb. 6–8 – All-Virginia Chorus Auditions

Cancelled – Thursday – Saturday,. Feb. 13-15 – RU Music Therapy Symposium

Saturday, Feb. 22 – All-Virginia Band and Orchestra Auditions

Friday, Feb 28 – 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. – Music Business Symposium

Cancelled – Friday, Feb. 28, Noon – 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – High School Pre-adjudication Band Clinic

Saturday, March 1, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Entrance Auditions

Saturday, March 15, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – 31st Rebecca Orr Piano Technique Festival

March 9–17 – Spring Break

Thursday – Friday, March 20–21,  8:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – District VI Choral Assessment Festival

Tuesday – Sunday, March 25–30 – Pridemore Theatre – Spring Musical “Cabaret”

Saturday, March 29, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Entrance Auditions

Thursday, April 10, 6:30 p.m., Covington Center Lobby – McGlothlin Foundation Presentation

Saturday, April 12, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Performance Hall in the Covington Center – Entrance Auditions

Saturday, May 3, 9:00 a.m. – 2:00 p.m., Porterfield 101 – Piano Juries

Monday – Thursday, May 5–8 – Applied Jury Exams

Saturday, May 10, 9:30 a.m. – Spring Commencement

 

 

Past Seasons