About Faculty Academics Facilities Auditions Performance Season Ensembles Contact

Faculty

Dean

Joseph P. Scartelli
Ph.D., M.M., University of Miami; B.S., Mansfield University
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts, Professor (Music Therapy)
jscartel@radford.edu

Chair

Allen F. Wojtera
M.M., Northwestern University; B.S., Central Connecticut State University
Chair, Professor (Percussion)
awojtera@radford.edu

Faculty and Staff

David R. Allen
D.M.A., University of North Carolina-Greensboro; M.M., Carnegie Mellon University; B.A., Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Instructor Part-time (Clarinet, Saxophone)
dallen@radford.edu

James E. Borling

M.M., University of Miami; B.M., DePauw University
Professor, Director of Music Therapy
jborling@radford.edu

W. Dayl Burnett

D.M.A., University of Miami Frost School of Music; M.A., B.A., Virginia Tech
Instructor Part-time (Trombone, Euphonium, Tuba, Brass Ensembles, Jazz)
1drjazz@gmail.com

David O. Castonguay

M.A., B.S., University of Connecticut
Associate Professor, Director of Choral Activities (Conducting, Vocal Music Education) dcastong@radford.edu

Timothy L. Channell

Ed. D., Marshal University; M.B.A., West Virginia Wesleyan College; B.A., Marshall University
Associate Professor
Director of Music Business
tchannell@radford.edu

Carla Copeland-Burns
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music, B.M., Florida State University
Instructor Part-time (Flute, Flute Ensemble)
cecopelan@radford.edu


Wallace Easter III
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music; B.A and B.M., Oberlin College and Conservatory of Music
Instructor Part-time (Applied Horn)
weaster2@radford.edu

Wayne Gallops

Ph.D., University of South Florida; M.M.E., Florida State University; B.M., University of Tampa
Associate Professor, Director of Bands (Conducting), Director of Music Education rgallops@radford.edu

Robert Lewis Glarner

Ph.D., University of Arizona; M.A., University of Wyoming; B.M., Case Western Reserve University and The Cleveland Institute of Music
Associate Professor (Music Theory, Organ)
rglarner@radford.edu

Kristopher D. Hale
M.A., B.M., Radford University
Instructor Part-time (Guitar)
kris@kristopherhale.com


Donald L. Hall

B.M., Radford University
Instructor Part-time (String Bass)
dlhall@radford.edu

Nitza Kats

M.F.A., University of Minnesota; Teaching Certificate, Artist Diploma, Rubin Academy of Music, Jerusalem, Israel
Associate Professor (Piano, Accompanying)
nkats@radford.edu

Marya Katz

M.A., Marshall University; B.A., Alderson-Broaddus College
Instructor Part-time (Music Education)
mkatz1@radford.edu

Youngmi Kim
M.M., D.M.A., University of Cincinnati; B.M., Ewha Womans University, Korea
Assistant Professor of Music, Soprano
ykim6@radford.edu

Jeffrey Kresge
M.M., Boston Conservatory; B.M., Fredonia State University
Instructor Part-time (Trumpet, Brass Techniques, Brass Ensembles)
jkresge@radford.edu

Vladimir Kromin

Diploma, (Master's and Bachelor's degrees), A.V. Nezhdanova Odessa State Conservatory, Ukraine Instructor Part-time (Violin, Viola)
vkromin@radford.edu


Bruce P. Mahin

D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music-The Johns Hopkins University; M.M., Northwestern University; B.M., West Virginia University
Professor (Composition, Music Theory) bmahin@radford.edu

Marilyn Meador

Ph.D., University of North Texas; M.M., Southern Illinois University; B.S., Middle Tennessee State University Instructor
Part-time (Organ)
mmeador@radford.edu


Robert Sanderl

D.M.A., M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., Crane School of Music
Assistant Professor (Percussion, Percussion Ensemble, Music Education)
rsanderl@radford.edu

Erica Sipes

M.M., Eastman School of Music; B.M., Eastman School of Music
Instructor Part-time (Piano, Accompanying)
esipes@radford.edu


Robert S. Trent

D.M.A., Peabody Conservatory of Music-The Johns Hopkins University; M.A., Trenton State College; B.M., Philadelphia College of Performing Arts
Professor (Guitar and Lute, Guitar Ensemble)
rstrent@radford.edu

Christopher K. White

Ph.D., Kansas State University; M.M., University of Louisiana-Lafayette; B.M., California State University-Northridge
Assistant Professor (Music Education, Jazz Ensemble, Saxophone and Oboe)
ckwhite@radford.edu

Brenda Williams

M.M., B.M.E., Morehead State University
Instructor Part-time (Piano Class, Applied Piano)
bbwillia@radford.edu


Patricia Winter

Ph.D., Temple University; M.M.T., Temple University; B.S., Elizabethtown College
Assistant Professor (Music Therapy), Coordinator of Graduate Music Program
pwinter3@radford.edu

David A. Zuschin

Ph.D., Kent State University; M.M., Yale University; B.M., Kent State University
Assistant Professor (Music History)
dzuschin@radford.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Jack R. Barnard
Ph.D., Florida State University; M.M., University of North Texas; B.M.E., Murray State College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Music Education, Music Theory)
jbarnard@radford.edu

Caryl Conger
M.M., B.M., Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music-University of Kentucky
Associate Professor Emeritus, Director of Accompanying (Piano)
cconger@radford.edu

Eugene C. Fellin
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin; M.M., University of Michigan; B.F.A., University of Wisconsin
Professor Emeritus, Chairman (Musicology, Chamber Orchestra)
efellin@radford.edu

Mildred M. Heimlich
M.S.M., Union Theological Seminary; M.S., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; B.A., Geneva College
Associate Professor Emeritus (Voice, Organ)

Clarity James
M.M., Indiana University; B.M., University of Wyoming
Professor Emeritus (Voice, Opera Workshop)
cjames@radford.edu

Marilyn Meador
Ph.D., University of North Texas; M.M., Southern Illinois University; B.S., Middle Tennessee State University
Professor Emeritus, Director of Music Education (Music Education and Organ)
mmeador@radford.edu


Kathryn G. Obenshain
Ed.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; M.S., Radford University; B.A., Mary Washington College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Piano Pedagogy, Director of Community Arts School)
kobensha@radford.edu


George D. Parish
Ph.D., University of Michigan; M.M., Converse College; B.M.E., University of Southwestern Louisiana
Professor Emeritus (Musicology, Music Theory and Tuba)
gparish@radford.edu

David B. Phillips
D.M.A., M.M. (piano), M.M. (composition), University of Michigan; B.M., George Peabody College
Professor Emeritus (Piano and Composition)
dphillip@radford.edu

Lewis R. Sheckler
Ed.D., M.S., University of Illinois; B.S., Olivet Nazarene College
Professor Emeritus (Music Education)