Home About The Academy Prospective Students Current Students Faculty Activities and Organizations


The Honors Academy draws on the expertise of faculty from every college and department on campus. The resources of the entire faculty are necessary mentoring the exciting honors contracts and honors capstones, which are undertaken every semester. In addition to these contributions, some faculty (listed below) contribute even more of their time to the Honors Academy.

Honors Academy Faculty Administration


Niels Christensen, Director and Professor of Psychology

Honors Librarian

Jen Resor-Whicker

Ms. Jennifer Resor-Whicker

Assistant Professor, Reference/Instruction and Honors Academy Librarian



Honors Faculty Fellows

Honors Faculty Fellows are appointed by the director to 3-year renewable terms. The fellows teach two honors courses per year, mentor honors students, and participate in honors community activities.


Justin Anderson, Associate Professor, Biology (2016-2019)


Dr. Guy Axtell - Associate Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies (2015-2018) 


Jason Davis, Assistant Professor, Biology (2015-2018)

11536_Eric du Plessis

Dr. Eric du Plessis, Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures (2015-2018)


Dr. Kurt Gingrich, Associate Professor, History (2015-2018)


Dr. Neil Sigmon, Professor, Mathematics (2015-2018)

Faculty Who Regularly Teach Honors Courses

Dr. Louis Gallo, Professor, English

Dr. Jolanta Wawrzycka, Professor English

Mr. Wesley Young, Associate Professor, Theatre and Cinema

Ms. Nancy Taylor, Instructor, English

Dr. Seife Dendir, Associate Professor, Economics