Faculty and Staff

Offering a quality professional education in social work is the primary goal of our School. The faculty is dedicated to helping students learn in an environment in which they will be encouraged to think beyond themselves and to inquire into the most complex, yet fundamental ideas about the human condition. In addition, ideas will be tested in the arena of practical experience, through intensive field practica. The struggle with ideas followed by testing them in the real worlds provides the opportunity to explore, to grow and to become. The role of the faculty is to support, to challenge, and to help students become professional social workers who act compassionately, thoughtfully and ethically.

The faculty is the heart of the school. They embody that which is best about higher education- open minds, lively encounters, and high academic standards. We are very fortunate to have gathered a group of interesting, talented persons who serve as teachers, mentors, and advisors. Talk with them, get to know them and be prepared to stretch your mind in the process.

diane-Hodge

Diane Hodge, Ph.D., LCSW
Director
Professor
540-831-7675
dmhodge@radford.edu

deneen

Deneen Evans, Ph.D., LCSW
MSW Program Coordinator
Roanoke MSW Site Coordinator
540-831-7681
devans18@radford.edu

file

Beth Deskins, MSW
Field Coordinator
540-831-7687
edeskins@radford.edu

Etty

Etty Vandsburger, Ph.D.
Professor
540-831-7674
evandsbur@radford.edu

Kerry Fay Vandergrift, Ph.D.
BSW Program Coordinator
Assistant Professor
540-831-7676
kvandergrift@radford.edu

 

Phil

Philip Mongan, Ph.D., LCSW
Assistant Professor
540-831-7689
pmongan@radford.edu

Susan Taylor, MSW
CRAFFT Area Coordinator
staylor22@radford.edu

Sarah Bradbury

Sarah Bradbury
Office Manager
540-831-7690
sbrillhea@radford.edu

Rhonda Seltz
Adjunct Instructor
MS
(540) 831-7693
rgseltz@radford.edu

file

Matthew DeCarlo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
540-831-5849
mdecarlo1@radford.edu

file

Erica Thornton, MSW
Child Welfare Stipend Coordinator
540-831-5349
ethornton@radford.edu

Susan

Susan Schoppelrey, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Professor
540-831-7692
sschoppel@radford.edu

placeholder

Elizabeth Arthur, EdD, LCSW
BSW Site Coordinator
540-831-7689
earthur3@radford.edu

Diana Joyce

Diana Joyce, MSW
Admissions Coordinator
540-831-7682
dsjoyce@radford.edu

 

Schneller

Debora Schneller, Ph.D., LCSW
Associate Professor
540-831-7694
d-schnel@radford.edu

Mashooq

Mashooq Salehin, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor
540-831-7862
msalehin@radford.edu

file

Christie Norris-Bowling, MSW
Instructor
540-831-7697
cdnorris@radford.edu

Jim Quillen

James Quillen
Fiscal Technician
540-831-7688
jequillen@radford.edu

Dennis

Dennis R. Cogswell, EdD
Professor Emeritus of Social Work

Ali-Sha Alleman, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
540-831-7673
aalleman@radford.edu

Matthias Naleppa, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
540-831-7686
mnaleppa@radford.edu