

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING 11:30 A.M. SEPTEMBER 29, 2022 MARY ANN JENNINGS HOVIS MEMORIAL BOARD ROOM MARTIN HALL, THIRD FLOOR, RADFORD, VA

DRAFT MINUTES

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector

Mr. Robert A. Archer, (Ex officio)

Dr. Rachel Fowlkes, (AERC)

Mr. Mark S. Lawrence, (SSC)

Ms. Lisa Pompa, (SSC)

Mr. David A. Smith, (GAAC)

Ms. Lisa Throckmorton, (AUREM)

COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT

Dr. Jay A. Brown, Vice Rector

Mr. Marquett Smith, (BAAC)

OTHERS PRESENT

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President

Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

Mr. Mike Melis, Senior Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General (via telecommunications)

CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Debra K. McMahon, Rector, called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m. in the Mary Ann Jennings Hovis Memorial Board Room in Martin Hall. Rector McMahon began by stating the purpose of the meeting was to continue discussions on Board of Visitors committee structure and meeting format. Rector McMahon shared that the vice presidents had met and discussed ways that the committee structure could support them in their work while the vice presidents could support the work of the committees.

A proposal for a new committee structure and format will be presented to the Board at the December 2022 meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

With no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting adjourned at 1:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Karen Casteele

Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President