Executive Committee

March 2025





**Executive Committee** 8:00 a.m. \*\* March 21, 2025 **Dean's Conference Room** Kyle Hall, Third Floor, Radford, VA

# DRAFT

#### <u>Agenda</u>

•	Call to Order	Mr. Marquett Smith, Chair
•	Approval of Agenda	Mr. Marquett Smith, Chair
•	Approval of Minutes	Mr. Marquett Smith, Chair
•	Committee Discussion	Mr. Marquett Smith, Chair
•	<b>Closed Session</b> Virginia Freedom of Information Act §2.2-3711(A) (1) and (8)	Mr. Marquett Smith, Rector
•	Other Business • Nominating Committee	Mr. Marquett Smith, <i>Chair</i>
•	Adjournment	Mr. Marquett Smith, Chair

\*\*All start times for committees are approximate only. Meetings may begin either before or after the listed approximate start time as committee members are ready to proceed.

# **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

Mr. Marquett Smith, Rector Mr. Tyler W. Lester, Vice Rector Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Dr. Betty Jo Foster, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

# Minutes





Executive Committee 8:00 a.m. \*\* December 6, 2024 Dean's Conference Room Kyle Hall, Third Floor, Radford, VA

# DRAFT MINUTES

#### **Committee Members Present**

Mr. Marquett Smith, Rector Mr. Tyler W. Lester, Vice Rector Ms. Jeanne Armentrout, (AESSC) Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, (EMBEC) Dr. Betty Jo Foster, (BAAC) Ms. Lisa W. Pompa, (EEC, Chair) Mr. David A. Smith, (SAAC)

#### **Others Present**

Dr. Bret Danilowicz, President Ms. Karen Casteele, Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President Ms. Susan Richardson, University Counsel Dr. Bethany Usher, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Mr. Dale Ardizzone, Board Member Ms. Betsy D. Beamer, Board Member Ms. Joann S. Craig, Board Member Ms. Callie Dalton, Board Member

# Call to Order

Mr. Marquett Smith, Rector, called the meeting to order at 8:03 a.m. in the Dean's Conference Room in Kyle Hall.

#### Approval of Agenda

Rector Smith asked for a motion to approve the December 6, 2024 meeting agenda, as published. Mr. Davis Smith so moved, Dr. Betty Jo Foster seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

#### Approval of Minutes

Rector Smith asked for a motion to approve the September 7, 2024 minutes of the Executive Committee meeting. Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert so moved, Mr. David Smith seconded, and the motion carried unanimously.

#### Committee Discussion

Rector Smith expressed his appreciation to the committee chairs for their thoughtful work prior to meetings and their continued work to improve the work of the committee. The committee chairs shared some highlights of the previous day, including the value of meeting with students at Winter CARD and in the Artis Center classrooms.

#### **Closed Session**

Rector Smith requested a motion to move into closed session. Mr. Tyler Lester made the motion that the Executive Committee of the Radford University Board of Visitors convene a closed session pursuant to Section 2.2-3711 (A) Item 1 and 8 under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act for the discussion of personnel matters, more specifically related to the president's employment agreement and performance plan, and for consultation with legal counsel. Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert seconded, and the motion carried unanimously. The Executive Committee went into closed session at 8:22 a.m.

#### **Reconvened Session**

Rector Smith called the meeting back to order at 8:36 a.m. On the motion made by Mr. Tyler Lester and seconded by Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert, the following resolution of certification was approved by a roll call vote.

#### **Resolution of Certification**

BE IT RESOLVED, that the Executive Committee of the Radford University Board of Visitors certifies that, to the best of each member's knowledge, (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements under this chapter were discussed in the closed meeting to which this certification resolution applies, and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened were heard, discussed or considered by the Board.

Roll Call	Vote
Mr. Tyler Lester, Vice Rector	Yes
Ms. Jeanne Armentrout	Yes
Dr. Betty Jo Foster	Yes
Mrs. Jennifer Wishon Gilbert	Yes
Ms. Lisa Pompa	Yes
Mr. David Smith	Yes
Mr. Marquett Smith, Rector	Yes

The resolution of certification was unanimously adopted.

#### Adjournment

With no further business to come before the committee, the meeting adjourned at 8:39 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ms. Karen Casteele Secretary to the Board of Visitors and Special Assistant to the President

# End of Board of Visitors Materials

